I entered my thirties as I entered my twenties, excited and geared towards better years to come. I never gave attention to how much I had accomplished. My daily routine had always been work, school, and home. Occasionally, I would visit Barnes and Noble for a new read or the local restaurants to enjoy new cuisines, but never too far away from home. In fact, I have never taken a leisure vacation.

Looking to market myself in the workforce, I have become a professional student, owning two degrees with one more on the way, yet I do not feel fulfilled. I’m single, childless, petless, and haven’t dated seriously in years. Still, somehow I have never felt a void until recently. Many girls grow up planning their dream wedding and imagining the space and interior of their dream home, but instead I have always dreamed on how to make a name for myself. Is this thirty and thriving?

I built my first home at twenty-three, and I have worked a professional job making decent wages over the years, but last year that came to a halt after I decided to walk away from a seven-year career. What a twist it put on my thirties and my finance. During a harsh economic low, I decided to step out on faith to find myself. I found myself asking God to help me find my way out of despair.

I never imagined I would be single at thirty, but I never imagined being married either. I have been lost in my own thoughts of prosperity rather than matters of the heart. Now, that my elevator has reached the basement, I wonder how many other single women have experienced a meltdown in their early thirties. I’m sure my elevator will go back up again, but I have a lot to think about on the way up. Maybe I should start dreaming.